9/11 and The Official Stance on Mourning

The thought of reliving the Day of 9/11, 2001 is a horrible thought in itself. So many people were effected in this great county by the horrific occurrence . It was a horrible, horrible day. I lived in Rutherford, NJ and was deeply effected at the time. We could see it from our home and were moved immensely. Some of our hometown neighbors died, some of our sons’ fathers were in the towers. My father had worked building the towers for years and went into a terrible depression. It should be a National Day of Remembrance. I don’t know how much of the coverage I’ll be able to watch, probably none, as I’m very emotional, and I’m finally getting over it and don’t need the wound reopened, but I feel the current Mayor is doing the city, survivors and families a disservice with his coverage and Memorial Service.

I don’t get it! How can you have a gathering or Memorial Service at the Real Site of the Old Twin Towers without any religious leaders, a Clergy-Free Zone because there isn’t any room? What? That is the supposed official stance of Mayor Bloomberg. Also, no policemen or firemen are invited. They were the heroes of the day. They went in to save lives with no thought to their own personal safety, and many more lives were lost, 343 firemen died helping and 72 policemen. Why are they not allowed to mourn their own at the Memorial Service? Weird. There will be such a rift between the mayor and these people, I just don’t get it.

I hope the Memorial Service goes off without any hitches, but I’m so sick of all the political correctness, all the hoops we have to jump through when we all know the way things should be done!

May God Bless the lost souls and let them RIP! Also, please let the families find solace in the Memorial service and find peace in their lives knowing the thoughts and prayers of all the American people are with them!

(C) Written by Evelyn Garone 9/11

About Evie Garone

I am an outspoken woman with independent views of the world. I am spiritual but also realistic. I've successfully raised two men who I've sent off to college and am now following my love of the arts, including painting, drawing and writing. Thus, two blogs, two books I sporadically work on, voracious reading, among other loves keep me busy.
This entry was posted in death, Etiquette, family, History, interesting, Men, new, News, Politically Correct, politics, Uncategorized, writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

