Damn Computers!

Ya know, I know I’m a novice at computer usage . . . I get by figuring out as I go along. I have been a stay-at-home Mom for the last 20 years and I haven’t been in the work force needing to know and get accustomed to a computer day-in-day-out.

What cracks me up is the way I always hear how simple computers are. Maybe for some people, but I know I’m challenged (technologically, that is). And I don’t think I am the only one . . . especially not of my generation.

Not having grown up with computers as a life-staple as they are today, learning on the fly when I want to do things may not be the way to go. Thank God I have my sons and my husband to help me navigate through this jungle.

I seem to get by by the seat of my pants, but when I can’t figure something out and have no one or no way to fix the problem, I have to admit I can be brought to tears with frustration. I try and try to rectify the situation, but alas when you don’t think from the left side of your brain, I think you’re at a disadvantage.

To think that I haven’t picked up the damn computer and thrown it through the window or committed other acts of violence to myself when I’m at my wits end is a major accomplishment, just a few tears and many pithy curses seem to be the least of it, so I take that as a good sign I’m well adjusted in this crazy world.

Perhaps a few classes wouldn’t be amiss? Who has the time when computers are so simple?

What do you think?

Written by Evelyn Garone 9/19/11

About Evie Garone

I am an outspoken woman with independent views of the world. I am spiritual but also realistic. I've successfully raised two men who I've sent off to college and am now following my love of the arts, including painting, drawing and writing. Thus, two blogs, two books I sporadically work on, voracious reading, among other loves keep me busy.
This entry was posted in funny, interesting, new and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Damn Computers!

  1. stevebetz says:

    A class probably wouldn’t be a bad idea — though I think the “easiness” of computers (or any modern technology) is getting a feel for the underlying algorithms of how programs work. It really is another language.

    As in all things, practice makes perfect!

    Like

    • Evie Garone says:

      Well, obviously the underlying algorithm is beyond me!! I work from the right-brain . . .artsy! Oh well, I’ll tough it out, don’t even know if the course would take! But somehow, I haven’t thrown my computer out the window and that in itself is a coup! A few tears, (actually a lot, gnashing of teeth, swearing, more crying and trial & error) and I get by! Someday I hope and pray that computers get even more simple . . . and I can just talk to them?! I have the Dragonfly software, but that takes some savvy and still too much know how of the ins-and-outs of the computer & software. I just use it for dictation!

      Like

  2. ournote2self says:

    Computers stress me out! They have a mind of their own!

    Like

Leave a Reply

