The “Fashion Police” tickles my Funny Bone!

I used to love “What Not To Wear”, now my new go-to fashion show is Fashion Police. It is hilarious. Joan Rivers is old enough not to care what people think and that makes her all the more outrageous. She also is nice enough and irreverent enough to poke fun at herself.

As we watch the show, her obnoxious East-Coast humor actually makes my husband laugh out loud. It takes a lot to actually make him laugh out loud, but her irreverence is refreshing and unbelievable. Her co-hosts Kelly Osbourne, Giuliana Rancic and George Kotsiopoulos don’t even seem to know before hand some of her more off-color humor, or they are great actors. Their looks of mock-horror and surprise are priceless!

I just read an article on Wikipedia about the spokeswomen for GEMS (Girls Educational and Mentoring ) who wrote an article on The Huffington Post.com stating her disapproval of the segment Starlet or Streetwalker explaining how harmful and stigmatizing things like this are. When did America lose it’s sense of humor?

Unfortunately, when you are famous and in the media you must be ready for all the publicity that goes along with it, positive and negative. You can’t choose. As one co-host, Kelly stated once when they were mocking Christina Aguilera, Christina had no compunctions calling her fat in the past, so Kelly didn’t feel guilty when mocking her in her bodysuit and fishnet stockings with her present full-figured body.

When you put yourself out there you must be ready for all sorts of comments. These Hollywood stars love when people fawn and tell them they’re the greatest, they must also swallow some of the negative comments. I’m sure it isn’t easy, but it’s just a TV show . . . I’m sure they should just ignore it. It’s done in fun! That’s what some comedians do, that’s there schtick. So America, lighten up and laugh.

You get to see some Hollywood Icons at their best and worst, share some laughs and fashion on the side. What could be more fun!

Written by Evelyn Garone 11/12/11

About Evie Garone

I am an outspoken woman with independent views of the world. I am spiritual but also realistic. I've successfully raised two men who I've sent off to college and am now following my love of the arts, including painting, drawing and writing. Thus, two blogs, two books I sporadically work on, voracious reading, among other loves keep me busy.
This entry was posted in Adult Humor, Beauty, Beauty Industry, Fashion, Fashion Industry, Humor, TV and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The “Fashion Police” tickles my Funny Bone!

  1. Yea. Everybody’s gotten so touchy and quick to take offense. Ditto with the “lighten up”

    Like

  2. stevebetz says:

    I will admit to enjoying Clayton and Stacy on What Not To Wear. Fortunately, no one’s nominated me for that show — yet.

    Like

    • Evie Garone says:

      Do you NEED to be nominated? I do love the make-over, I have to say they do a fabulous job shoring up the women’s self-esteem. I just haven’t seen it lately, and my husband won’t really watch that…

      Like

  3. Pingback: My Passion For Love, and Tickle Your Funny Bone | richardo's daily creative lifestyle in nyc

Leave a Reply

