Next Hurdle — Writing the Dreaded Christmas Cards

Different, but not glittery enough!

I don’t know why but for some reason writing Christmas cards is not my favorite thing. Alright, I’m sure I’m NOT the only one, but it feels it when everyone is fa, la, la laing taunting me with their success. I will do anything to put it off. I’ll find any other job around the house, cooking washing toilets, alright let’s not get crazy! What would my cleaning lady do? Procrastinating knowing it’s hanging over my head really seems to be the way to go for a while. I walk around the house sighing, throwing myself on the couch, playing the martyr dreading it. For some reason it just seems an insurmountable job, getting the correct card for the correct person and writing a personal message and all that jazz.

A few years ago I did weed through my list. If you haven’t sent me one in years, I’m done sending. I know this is supposed to be a time of cheer and love, blah, blah, blah, but it’s just gotten so commercial and out of hand, I decided to do something to control my life and if that includes deleting annoying people I’m all for it. If, unfortunately, I also haven’t spoken to you in years I’ve decided to forgo the card. To me it just seems a weird way to keep in touch. If we felt the need to connect, perhaps we’d use a phone? Hey I have e-mail, a blog (you could read and comment on, sorry for the brazen self-promotion, but it seems my friends don’t read) and other means of modern communication, so if you don’t remember I’m alive except for the card, forget it!

Nice, but not quite there yet!

Anywhooo, on to the cards themselves. I love glittery unique cards, not the regular red and green Santa for me. I, for some reason am quite fond of blue and gold and glitter (did I mention that?) I’m hoping I have a stash ready to go if, I remembered to buy at the end of the year when the fancy cards were on sale and put them away. So please wish me luck. And if you are already done with your cards, I am envious!

It'll do in a pinch for those Non-Christians . . .

Once I start writing, I’m okay, I suddenly remember the real reason and season, playing Christmas carols getting glittery colored pens and throwing myself into the project. I have a list of professional contacts of my husband’s I have to send to and try to be sensitive to people’s different religions, it’s true, it’s true I read it on Hallmarks’s Etiquette page while doing research on card design. And did you know you put the card in fold first, picture side-up? Well, hell yes now you know and knowing is half the battle. Amazing what you can find out if you actually do some research… So I’m sure you know what I mean, it can be a time-consuming project. So here I go, now that the blog is finished, I have no more excuses . . .

Written by Evelyn Garone 12/5/11

About Evie Garone

I am an outspoken woman with independent views of the world. I am spiritual but also realistic. I've successfully raised two men who I've sent off to college and am now following my love of the arts, including painting, drawing and writing. Thus, two blogs, two books I sporadically work on, voracious reading, among other loves keep me busy.
This entry was posted in Christmas, new, Uncategorized, writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

