Oh Please Iowa…. Ron Paul, Really?

I’ve heard that Newt Gingrich has taken the new hit for the team. It was only a matter of time. He was leading the race for a little too long and the status quo can’t handle that. So his opponents needed to start the negative “commercials” campaign completing the attack after Michele Bachmann started slinging arrows at the last debate. Newt does seem to have more ideas in one day than most people have in a year, unfortunately he doesn’t polish the idea before he bloviates with it. That’s when he scares all and sundry. Point in fact his comments on the courts. I would think most people would agree that judges who pass judgement on their own beliefs and change the law need to be brought to bear.  Don’t even get me started, I don’t really understand the love affair the GOP has with Romney though I will say after the last debate, I do like him more than I ever have before.

I still think Ron Paul is a nut. I understand he wants to shrink government, and though this main fact is fabulous on paper, his thoughts on cutting budgets are a pipe dream and make the American people less safe. If other countries (our enemies) thought the way he does, of no war,  peace and love perhaps it would work but I don’t think all the nations under the sun wish well for America.  His thoughts of cutting the military across the board scares the shit out of me. Also, him running as a Republican seems insincere to me, I believe he is a Libertarian running as a Republican knowing that’s the only way of having a chance. That having been said, we’ll see how the vote goes in Iowa, remember 4 years ago Huckabee won the Iowa caucus vote didn’t he? And where is he now? On FOX TV with a show, not President, he went no further than Iowa in anybody’s mind or imagination.

So, we’ll not be able to call it a day after Iowa. Then it’ll be on to New Hampshire, and on and on arrghhh! Ron Paul may have a leg up there since they seem to be more Libertarian in New Hampshire. Unbelievable…there is no calling it. I don’t think he’ll really get the vote, but he could skew the outcome by splitting the vote of the other nominees. Newt Gingrich’s slide in the polls may be tied to shortages in campaign finances.  The negative commercials in Iowa against him are mind-boggling and since he is financially strapped, he’s not able to come back at them at the same strength.

I have no fave right now, I’m not thrilled with any of the candidates, anyone BUT Obama!

What do you think?

(C) Written by Evelyn Garone 12/20/11

About Evie Garone

I am an outspoken woman with independent views of the world. I am spiritual but also realistic. I've successfully raised two men who I've sent off to college and am now following my love of the arts, including painting, drawing and writing. Thus, two blogs, two books I sporadically work on, voracious reading, among other loves keep me busy.
This entry was posted in Men, new, News, Obama, politics, radio, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Oh Please Iowa…. Ron Paul, Really?

  1. stevebetz says:

    I think Paul most certainly represents the libertarian-ness of the GOP — and I’m sort of surprised that more Tea Partiers haven’t gotten behind him. I think they feel like you that he’s just a little unbalanced in the whole.

    I will give him credit though — for the past 15 years he’s the only politician that I can think of from any party that hasn’t wavered in what he has said are his core principles.

    Like

  2. Evie Garone says:

    It may be true that his opinion hasn’t wavered, but is his opinion sound? He scares me a little….I thought that he’s been known to look like a loon…

    Like

Leave a Reply

