The FINALS on X FACTOR!!!!!!!!!

Alrighty then, lets see what we got here! For some reason, the powers that be in charge thought it would be a good idea for the contestants to sing a duet with a famous person, personally it DID NOT work for me!

I thought all the contestants were overshadowed by the Star power of their partner. Be it when Alanis Morisesette sang “Uninvited” with Josh, he unfortunately did seem a little awed and cowed by her. NBD singing with a gigantic star, but you’ve got to keep the stars out of your eyes when you are singing for $5 million!

Aren't we so cute acting like teenagers? NOT!

Then we had the unfortunate coupling of Avril Lavigne and Chris Rene singing “Complicated” as they bounced around on the stage! How juvenile and bad was that? Don’t get me wrong, I like the song, she just can’t sing live…how many “stars” can today? That’s the problem…Chris’s voice was rough and I WAS NOT impressed!

Yes R. Kelly, thanks for ruining MY singing....

As for that rendition of “I Believe I Can Fly” by Melanie Amaro and R. Kelly,  I thought it was terrible for her! I could not have told you why, I don’t know my “keys” well enough to tell you what the experts knew, that she was singing in a lower register, but I can tell you what I thought of it…I thought she did NOT fly…it only show-cased R. Kelly and that was unfortunate for her. I thought this show was about the 3 Finalists and it seems this show has sold out…what’s up with the importance of the STARS over the contestants? Strange…

The 3 contestants then came out to sing a Michael Jackson thingy with dancers from Cirque De Soleil  “The Immortal”….hello people he’s dead, perhaps immortal isn’t the greatest name for it. I know Michael Jackson was a great influence on music, but IMMORTAL?! God how everybody is selling out…how much is his family making from the whole thing, now that Michael can’t hand out the money, stingily I heard, they’re hawking him everywhere! And we can’t change history, do we remember some of Michael’s “problems” or is that all forgotten? I’m still on the fence about his Immortality, perhaps if he rises from the dead, I’ll jump on that bandwagon…

So, after all the stupid commercial breaks we get back to the contestants final song…

Josh sings Etta James‘ “At Last” which as we were watching his highlights, was the song I had suggested to my husband would be a great choice to “wow” the people with. I love Josh, do not get me wrong, but I was a little non-plussed with his rendition last night . . . I don’t know if it was the guitar taking some of his attention away from the song and singing itself, trying to balance on the stupid stairs, or just all over fright and intimidation of the outcome of the show, but I don’t think it was as moving as his audition rendition. But he is STILL great, and I think deserves to win?!

Now, onto Chris Rene and his “Young Homie” rendition. It was good for what it is, but even though I love his enthusiasm is that enough to “win” this competition? Do you think he can float a career on those Ahhs, and Uuhs, that’s not singing? I just don’t know…and as for the color commentary about his “fabulous” rehab turn around, yes that is terrific, fabulous even, but if he didn’t, would he even have been here, hell no and I’m sure LA Reid has been keeping a tight rein on him, what happens if he wins $5 million….just wondering?

So onto the Diva, Melanie singing Beyonce‘s “Listen”. For some reason Melanie has turned me off. As I’ve stated before, don’t we all have a story to tell, if given the platform she has been given? I’m sorry if she’s been bullied, but get over it…you are now on a $5 million competition where the world is telling you you are wonderful! I don’t love Melanie’s style, Mariah and Whitney have DONE this all before, is she marketable at this time in history? I think that boat has sailed…she does have a great voice, it’s just not for me.

But, not to be only a negative Nellie….they are all stars at this point and may have the “X” Factor, it’s up to America to pick, so we’ll see TONIGHT!!!!!!!!

What do you think, who’s your favorite?

(C) Written by Evelyn Garone 12/22/11

About Evie Garone

I am an outspoken woman with independent views of the world. I am spiritual but also realistic. I've successfully raised two men who I've sent off to college and am now following my love of the arts, including painting, drawing and writing. Thus, two blogs, two books I sporadically work on, voracious reading, among other loves keep me busy.
This entry was posted in Entertainment, Humor, interesting, Music, new, singing, The X Factor and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

