Thank GOD The IOWA Caucuses are OVER!

Enough already! I don’t know about you but I was in overload with all the hype concerning the damn Iowa caucus, but now that it’s over, I’m so non-plussed! So, Mitt Romney won by 8 points, but does that matter? This man has been running for 6 years, that’s right 6 years and only won by 8 points. He had more money than anyone else’s campaign and used it. Rick Santorum won 24.5% of the vote and has not a chance in hell but did raise one million bucks in that one night. He scares me with his really conservative views on abortion. I think he’ll set us back many years, whatever happened to Roe VS Wade? He doesn’t believe in abortion even in cases of rape and incest. That’s crazy!

What I’d like to know is if any of this matters in the scheme of things?! I hope the GOP gets it’s act together, I’d love one of these men to beat Obama in 2012 but WHO? I just don’t know who can and will win… I can’t imagine number 3 at 21.4% Ron Paul, Mr. Libertarian running as a supposed Republican winning. He’s a bonafide wingnut in my opinion and doesn’t have a chance in hell of winning. Let’s just hope he doesn’t go and run as a third party candidate and split the vote and help Obama win again. Newt Gingrinch came in fourth place with 13.3%, suffering from all the negative publicity from Mitt Romney and Ron Paul. Let’s see if he’s learned his lesson and turns his campaign around to use their own negativity against them. Michele Bachmann was sixth place and dropped out of the race for president.

It’s off to New Hampshire. Let’s see what happens there! Let’s hope we see a more definitive winner. Plus we’ll have another face-off where we’ll hear the candidates speak . . .

REsults for Iowa Republican Caucus (U.S. Presidential Primary)
Jan 03, 2012 (100% of precincts reporting)
Mitt Romney 30,015 24.6%
Rick Santorum 30,007 24.5%
Ron Paul 26,219 21.4%
Newt Gingrich 16,251 13.3%
Rick Perry 12,604 10.3%

(C) Written by Evelyn Garone 1/5/12

About Evie Garone

I am an outspoken woman with independent views of the world. I am spiritual but also realistic. I've successfully raised two men who I've sent off to college and am now following my love of the arts, including painting, drawing and writing. Thus, two blogs, two books I sporadically work on, voracious reading, among other loves keep me busy.
This entry was posted in Media, Men, News, Obama, politics and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Thank GOD The IOWA Caucuses are OVER!

  1. stevebetz says:

    I only watched out of the corner of my eye, because I can’t take all the hyperbole on the “news” channels — though they should really start calling themselves “infotainment”, I think.

    The GOP has a huge problem with Romney. People don’t get excited for him and un-excited people stay home on election day. I still think he’s the only one that can win part of the middle away from Obama, but he might lose the right at its expense. None of the other candidates (other than Huntsman) can grab the middle.

    Like

    • Evie Garone says:

      Steve, You are sooo correct about the “infotainment” aspect of ALL the news channels . . . my husband and I watch FOX news and I’m so overloaded I can’t take it anymore!
      I don’t know where you stand, I happen to be an Independent, unfortunately I’m pinning my hopes on the GOP just to escape Obama’s broken promises and massive spending, et al. (we’ll leave it at that)
      I do NOT know who can sway the people at this point, I have no favorites, I almost WANT someone else to get into the fray…

      Like

Leave a Reply

