I Feel Like I Hit The Lottery….A GREAT Dentist!

The Dentist

Image via Wikipedia

As we travel this odyssey that is life there are travails we shall all have to overcome, some seem worse than others. We all know there is much upkeep of our bodies for they are going to be with us through it all and as we’ve advanced medically we’ve learned that to be proactive is the most sensible course of action.

Unfortunately along this road there will be nefarious characters who we interact with who we may not realize are such because they won’t be wearing masks and holding guns and easily identified.  They might be calling themselves professionals, they just won’t be doing a good job, so buyer beware!

Believe me, I’ve learned my lesson. I’ve been fooled. But finally, today I found a GREAT new dentist who is going to set things to rights in my mouth and I can’t tell you how relieved I am! For as the old adage goes, if you don’t take care of your teeth, they will go away. I know this sounds facile, but it is very important and has kept me up at night worrying. So after today, I can sleep well.

I have had a very bad experience at a dental chain that is in the South West and have had to have a crown redone twice and a root canal all at my peril.  My new dentist now has told me it needs to be redone a third time, after I have a consultation with an Orthodontist for TMJ and an off-bite. I finally found him through a referral of a friend and checked his education, spoke to the receptionist who had also had a terrible experience at the same unacceptable place I had gone. I actually changed my insurance coverage so I could go here, all so I could and would save my teeth. Lesson learned.

If I can help even one person by sharing my own experience it would be to suggest that you check out your dentist well, make sure you do not trust what one dental office says if they seem to want to do too much work, if the billing seems excessive, and if things just seem off to you. Trust your gut.  Also, if you have not been to the dentist lately, you really should go, dental health is very important it effects so many other major organs in your body. Having just been there, the first visit with all the x-rays, pictures and examination is not as bad as what you may imagine. The peace of mind is worth the nerves of the time invested in the waiting room, believe me!

So good luck! Believe me, after breast cancer, this was all a piece of cake! I just hope if I have to get braces, I can get Invisalign. (I think my front bottom teeth shifted from the unfortunate crown debacle from the wonderful dentist I HAD!)

(C) Written by Evelyn Garone 1/11/12

About Evie Garone

I am an outspoken woman with independent views of the world. I am spiritual but also realistic. I've successfully raised two men who I've sent off to college and am now following my love of the arts, including painting, drawing and writing. Thus, two blogs, two books I sporadically work on, voracious reading, among other loves keep me busy.
This entry was posted in Beauty, Dental, Dentist, health, Insurance, Medical, new, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

