Whitney Houston’s Death…

I can’t help but think that it didn’t have to go down this way! Damn it! Will people never learn that drugs kill!? Hasn’t there been enough loss…we can list the talent lost to drugs… Jimi Hendrix, Janis Joplin, Elvis, Kurt Cobain, Marilyn Monroe, Michael Jackson, Jim Morrison and the list goes on. They were all tortured souls….

When I first heard the news I was so sad… I had tears in my eyes to think of a woman who was born the same year as me, dead, so young, so tragically.

I know that it’s a disease, this addiction…but where were the family? I don’t know, did they ever try an intervention? And I’m talking a serious intervention, where she was locked down in a rehab. for months to get clean and sober, to check out the deeper issues, for I’m sure there were deeper psychological issues to the addictions. It was obvious she was her own worst enemy and she couldn’t kick the substance abuse issue with a little out-patient rehab visit. She had tried that a bunch of times.  I know, I know, let’s not play the blame game, but what a damn SHAME! This woman had such talent that she frittered away. We, the public watched her unwind in front of our eyes. But we can’t forget her problems and abuse issues and sensationalize her death now. This is a wonderful time to bring drug abuse to the fore!

Yes, she was a great artist but remember her warts and all. I don’t know where I stand on the flag being lowered to half mast in New Jersey for her death, perhaps it is a little tasteless? What was Governor Christie thinking by lowering the flags to half mast in her honor? What about the soldiers that died that day? Were they not worthy of the same honor? She was an addict who killed herself and had been slowly killing herself for the last 20 years in the media and no one was honest about it. I don’t think we should be sensationalizing her death if not telling the truth about it. Perhaps we should remember how we and others feel about the addict in the gutter, you don’t put a flag at half mast for them do you, so just because she could sing, she gets that distinction…perhaps that’s even worse? She had it all and threw it all away, and a purported $100 million on her drugs?

I must say I am proud her mother stood by her principles and kept the ceremony in her family church like she wanted and didn’t change it to an arena so the masses could share in the spectacle of her death. Too bad she had to cave a little by simulcasting the spectacle. It should be a private thing like her Mom wanted, this thing called grief. Where were all these people who want to honor her in death, when she was all alone in her hour of need? Just my two cents…..

(C) Written by Evelyn Garone 2/17/12

About Evie Garone

I am an outspoken woman with independent views of the world. I am spiritual but also realistic. I've successfully raised two men who I've sent off to college and am now following my love of the arts, including painting, drawing and writing. Thus, two blogs, two books I sporadically work on, voracious reading, among other loves keep me busy.
This entry was posted in Addiction, death, drug abuse, drugs, Entertainment, health, illness, singing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

