AMERICAN IDOL – Top 12 Girls!

So we start off the night of the Girls hearing that a Girl hasn’t won in 5 years…what a surprise if the judges’ obvious favoritism between tonight’s criticism and last night’s Love Fest has anything to do with it.

Chelsea Sorrell sang another Carrie Underwood song “Cowboy Casanova” and was only alright. Randy suggested that perhaps she shouldn’t keep singing Carrie songs, to make her own identity. J Lo commented that she sounded nasally, which I agreed with. Steven Tyler tells her to watch her wording and phrasing and to belt out when it’s appropriate. I was underwhelmed, thinking that she didn’t have the power to sing Carrie and the chops, so she should give it a rest.

Erica Van Pelt  came out and sang “What About Love”. I have to say I don’t remember half of these contestants. I think this years they seemed to have rushed through the process of getting down to the final 24 and they may have picked who we know by who got airtime, and the others go by the wayside and may have trouble connecting with the audience.  I wonder how that works….is it you get airtime if you are outgoing, different or on the fringe? The other more normal people may get lost in the shuffle and get tossed off the show for not having “that” type of personality?

Anyway, I thought Erica sang very nicely. Better than I expected. Steven thought she was confident and sang beautifully. J Lo says she’s really good and could have pushed herself even more. Randy also thought she was really good.

Jen Hirsh singing Adele’s “One and Only”.  I thought she was very good. The judges give her pretty could feedback, but it’s always hard to sing Adele.

Brielle Von Hugel singing “Sittin’ On The Dock Of The Bay” is alright. The attention they give to her and her mother is disturbing. I think she tries too hard and that New York Staten Island hardness is too much. Lighten up sweetie, back off on the make up and just sing. The judges liked her soul and said she did a good job.

Halley Day sings “Feeling Good”.  She’s just okay but forgettable. The judges tell her she was pretty good, but Randy wants to know where she fits in, where she see’s herself. She says R n’B and torch songs. We’ll see what happens.

Skylar Laine sings “Stay With Me” and she comes out strutting her stuff. I didn’t love it, it’s just not my type of music but as the judges like her and comment on her enthusiasm and showmanship I realize they are correct, for her target audience, she’s terrific. Imagine Reba McEntire crossed with Tina Turner, she had that kind of energy.

Baylie Brown sings “Amazed”.  She’s so posed at the start, it’s silly. Unfortunately she has trouble following the last little spitfire, and her performance is subpar. Be it nerves, whatever it seemed as if she never got control of the song and the judges agreed.  She’s very pretty though, and I think she’ll go over big to the middle of the country.

Hollie Cavanaugh sings “Reflection”. I’m not crazy about it, it’s just okay with me. She can sing, I just don’t like the song or the forgettable performance. I guess I’m looking for a stand-out moment…and haven’t really seen one.

Haley Johnsen sings “Sweet Dreams”.  It’s a very different interpretation and it doesn’t work as far as Randy is concerned. I think it was unfortunate, and the rest of the judges agree.

Shannon Magrane sings “Light Your World” and she is pretty good. She gets better as the song goes on. When they flash to the crowd, her mother is singing along. I’m assuming this will go over big in the Mid-West. I’m assuming this is a religious song, and again the Mid-West should eat this up!

Jessica Sanchez comes out to sing “I Love You I Do” and the audience and the judges loved her! She gets a standing ovation. They tell her her timing and her pitch were perfect. I thought she was pretty good, but again I wonder if some of the performance is lost between being there live and seeing it on TV, for I never would have imagined a standing ovation. She’s very likable and seems to be the big winner of the night!

Elise Testone sings Adele’s “One and Only” and does a great job. The judges loved her, but said they hoped the audience realize how good she is because they might not have seen it in this song. I have to disagree, I thought she sang great and I could hear the nuances and thought she is really meant to be there as she’s a force to be reckoned with.

So there you have it in a nut shell. It’s hard for me to “know” all the cast of characters and I hate to get invested since we know after tonight we’ll lose half of them. After this, perhaps we’ll get a feel of the few left and get to know their individual personalities and become more “invested” more involved in them personally. As of right now, I have no big favorite. How about you, what did you think of the show, any standouts?

(C) Written by Evelyn Garone

About Evie Garone

I am an outspoken woman with independent views of the world. I am spiritual but also realistic. I've successfully raised two men who I've sent off to college and am now following my love of the arts, including painting, drawing and writing. Thus, two blogs, two books I sporadically work on, voracious reading, among other loves keep me busy.
This entry was posted in American Idol, Entertainment, Humor, interesting, Music, singing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

