The Sad Disappearance Of SPOOKY The Cat

Spooky has been missing for more than 36 hours at this point. I do NOT think he is coming home. I still have his food and fresh water sitting waiting for him, in the optimistic hope that he will still come home but my hopes are drying up.

I stayed up again last night on the couch calling sporadically out the back door, his door in hope for his return to no avail.

I try to comfort myself with the memories, knowing he was a free soul, wild ’till the end happy to be outside and there are no regrets. You can’t look back or you’ll go nuts.

He was happy in our backyard, climbing trees, chasing birds, stalking mice and running free to “do his thing”. We would look out the window and he would be on our wall walking along, nimble as the proverbial cat who always lands on his feet when he jumped from the 12 foot wall down to run over to me.

He reminded me of the cartoon character cats from my childhood, sauntering through the grass, on the hunt like the panther he thought he was tracking a bird or bug which he sometimes brought home to me. There were comedies that ensued when he brought me his live offerings a few times. He lived a good life…he couldn’t have been loved more, fed better, allowed freer rein in his kingdom, which was anywhere in our house and the great outdoors.

He was very loving, he was a very well behaved cat, he didn’t scratch anything in the house except his scratching pole probably since he was allowed out to work off his excess energy and he was a character that the family loved very much. He will be missed. He was the first pet I ever had and my sons’ first pet, too, so he will leave a hole in our lives. I still hold out a little ray of hope that he will be miraculously found and returned to me. . .one must always have hope!

As I look through my pictures files, I can’t find many pictures of him, I think I deleted some of the last ones thinking I had so much time to take new, better ones, sigh….

(C) Written by Evelyn Garone 3/13/12

About Evie Garone

I am an outspoken woman with independent views of the world. I am spiritual but also realistic. I've successfully raised two men who I've sent off to college and am now following my love of the arts, including painting, drawing and writing. Thus, two blogs, two books I sporadically work on, voracious reading, among other loves keep me busy.
This entry was posted in afterlife, Cats, death, disappearance, Pets, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The Sad Disappearance Of SPOOKY The Cat

  1. jackie says:

    Xoxo

    Like

  2. stevebetz says:

    Oh! So sorry to hear about Spooky.

    Like

  3. jackie says:

    Every night we light a candle for Fred’s well being…tonight we lit one for Spooky too. Lu

    Like

Leave a Reply

