So I Thought It Was A Bad Economy!? #

My two boys are getting ready to move into their new apartment before the next semester starts and being the mother I am I have decided I had to help. Well, I should think before I open my mouth, but that wouldn’t be me.

This entails shopping for new queen mattresses, dressers, night tables, a desk and sundries. Of course somehow I am involved in the shopping in the summer heat of Arizona and I forgot how un-fun that is! I also forgot how expensive mattresses are and how like used car salesmen these people are. It was a horrible experience as my son and I price shopped through at least 6 stores and finally settled at Mattress RX with a decent price for 2 queen middle of the road mattress sets of unmatched boxspring and mattresses saving an extra $100 each set with a metal frame delivered and set up for $900.99. That was compared to at least $1400 before the frames and tax and delivery, so I think we did well.

We were trying so hard to avoid shopping at IKEA, but had to go there. Yeah, I know. . .  the giant store where you can’t avoid the path . . . but that’s where we finally found the desk, night table, and both dressers. We may have paid a little more but got real wood, not particle board and they were still reasonable.

That wasn’t all we needed. I decided that I would donate my cocktail table to “the cause” as it has a few “issues”. One night I felt like lemon water and was a little too lazy to get up and put away the fresh lemon, so I left it on the stone table and fell asleep with it lying there all night. Well, guess what? Acid like lemon “eats” the finish off stone, did you know that? Well, I do now . . .  and there are a few rings on the table where the shiny finish has been eaten off the marble-like stone that drives me crazy . . . of course it won’t bother the boys. The table is beautiful . . . except for that imperfection that stares me in the face when the light hits it just right and my idiocy hits me again and again!

So my son and I were lucky enough to find a cocktail table while on the great mattress hunt. All I had to do was take my husband on the weekend to see if he liked it. We showed up at the store at 9:40 am while there was a women washing the glass doors so the doors opened and we went in. A man accosted us as soon as we entered and told us they weren’t open yet, they were having a store meeting, they would open at 10:00, we should come back.

In the day, NO ONE would let a sale walk out the door! I thought it was a bad economy?! They could have locked us in and let us look. They let a sale walk out the door! WTH! He wasn’t even nice about it. Ask us what we wanted, perhaps? I just wanted to show my husband the table . . . it would have taken two seconds.

We left there with a bad taste in our mouths and went to THE DUMP. We had been there before and bought a very eclectic table that we love. I thought it would be a slam dunk to find a basic marble-topped or tile-topped cocktail table but was very disappointed by the change in THE DUMP. They have caved and turned into a run-of-the-mill furniture store now and had nothing but vignettes of living room set-ups, nothing new and exciting. They also did not have extraordinary savings like they did in the beginning of their existence. What a shame! So unfortunately, we had to go back to the first store and check out the original table I wanted to show my husband after 10 am, of course, wouldn’t want to bother them!

So, we did and we bought it only because it was what we wanted and needed in our price range. Then the debacle of finding the warehouse ensued. We had the directions and set off thinking that it would be so simple! Ha! With a few mis-turns and after figuring out their directions were backwards, no really. . .  not me . . . ask my husband… he’ll back me up, I swear, it was them this time not me . . . anyway, we have the table and just have to assemble it and love it! Now for the boys to take the old one off my hands… ah moving, is always sooo much fun!

Written by Evelyn Garone 7/15/12

About Evie Garone

I am an outspoken woman with independent views of the world. I am spiritual but also realistic. I've successfully raised two men who I've sent off to college and am now following my love of the arts, including painting, drawing and writing. Thus, two blogs, two books I sporadically work on, voracious reading, among other loves keep me busy.
This entry was posted in Blogging, Decorating, funny, Humor, shopping, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

