“Burn Notice” Season Finale . . .The Panama Episode #

In a one hour show I can be made to laugh out loud and then brought to tears. I know it’s just a TV show, but after I spend enough time getting to know a cast of characters I invest my heart, it’s just the way I am. I’ve become very fond of Michael Westen, Fiona Glenanne, Jessie, Madeline Westen and Sam Axe over the years.

Who can deny the talent of cigarette wielding Sharon Gless as the over protective mother always willing to join in on whatever spy adventure they’re involved in this week, especially when they’re short handed and need her.

The ensemble just clicks and never fails to tickle my funny bone at least once during each episode be it intentional, or be it Jeffrey Donovan’s attempts at accents. Fiona as the bomb expert is someone to be seen to be believed. How such a petite woman can come off so tough and indomitable yet still believable is quite a good acting skill.  Sam Axe is always personable, a friend you wish you had especially if you were a spy seeing as he’s an ex-Navy Seal and tough as nails. Jessie was not always part of the ensemble, but has burrowed his way into my heart and is such the amusing character while quite helpful to round-out the ensemble.

I was beside myself as the youngest Weston son, Nate was murdered and am not ashamed to admit I shed a few tears sharing Maddie’s grief as she lambasted Michael for letting Nate become involved in the whole spy game.  Unfortunately I missed the episode of Nate’s funeral and the discovery of the sniper, Tyler Gray who did it, thanks to the DVR memory capacity and my vacation schedule. I caught up with the recap.

I just finished viewing the episode of the crew’s visit to Panama to track the killer which is so eerie as we just returned from…wait for it — Panama! So, talking about the humor and the tears all in one episode, again, not to be disappointed, it’s all encompassed here.

First when the gang is surprised in their hideout and must quickly escape through the roof without most of their guns and bullets, Jessie leaves without his shoes which is comical as he cracks wise quite frequently to lighten the dangerous mood throughout. Eventually, when they accost one of the bad guys in an alley, Jessie knocks him out and steals his gun and his work boots, but since they don’t fit correctly he cuts out the toes to fit. In an offhanded comment Fi says “Oh, Panamanian peep-toe tres chic !” I found it out loud funny!

After all the ups and downs, they catch Gray the killer and Michael cuffs him. I was so proud that he didn’t outright kill him in justified anger to get back at him for murdering his brother. As he calls his weasel boss Tom Card who I hate, back in the US, to tell him to get the extraction team ready to get them out of Panama, Gray tells him it’s all a set-up to take him out once and for all. So as Michael speaks to him, catches him in a blatant lie he grabs Gray and they’re on the run again.

Damn, as if Michael and the gang hadn’t been through enough. I’ve never liked Card, he’s such a snarky bastard! (I didn’t like his character in SCRUBS either!)

So as they’re escaping, the US Government sends military jets swooping in to blow up the building they just left, hoping to kill the whole crew. I catch myself cursing and tearing up between the scene of Madeline just being lied to by that bastard Card about the “broken” brothers and how he cares about Michael as he’s giving orders to have him killed in Panama.  The nice injured Brady, the African-American guy on the mission takes the van and sacrifices himself (to be blown up by the other jet) so Michael and the rest of them can get away in the forests of Panama. Oh, it’s just too much! It was a very exciting episode and I am just so sad it played out this way! To be cont’d. next season……..

If you haven’t watched Burn Notice, 9 pm USA Network, you might want to rent past seasons and catch up! If you watch, what did you think of the Panama episode?

(C) Evelyn Garone 8/25/12

About Evie Garone

I am an outspoken woman with independent views of the world. I am spiritual but also realistic. I've successfully raised two men who I've sent off to college and am now following my love of the arts, including painting, drawing and writing. Thus, two blogs, two books I sporadically work on, voracious reading, among other loves keep me busy.
This entry was posted in Entertainment, funny, Opinion, TV, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to “Burn Notice” Season Finale . . .The Panama Episode #

  1. “Burn Notice,” 9 p.m. USA Network: The worst thing about a cable series is that it often only has a short run of 10 episodes instead of the 22 shows in a network show’s season. It seems like only a few weeks ago new episodes of this first-rate spy series started and now the summer finale is on tap for tonight.

    Like

    • Evie Garone says:

      You are right the short season is a let-down…it just starts and it’s over! What’s up with that? Once it’s popular they should lengthen the season…what do you think? Thanks for reading…

      Like

Leave a Reply

