Who’s Got A Grandma Like This?#

So, I’m busy visiting in Florida, kinda’ on death watch for my Dad who’s got 24 hour hospice care now as we’re waiting for him to make his peace with his maker and separate from this life and move on.

As we’re trying to deal with this we’ve realized life goes on and we must keep things in perspective and have a sense of humor about other things around us. As we pull up to the facility everyday there is this sweet woman roaming the parking lot who reminds me of my mom and my nieces of their Grandma leaning on her walker picking flowers and cuttings from trees, shrubs and plants. She is absolutely adorable and makes our hearts sing with optimism of seeing someone this old enjoying life to her potential and enjoying one of her loves, nature.

She reminded me so much of my mother, in the Alzheimer wing I felt the need to make sure I gave her a big hello every day and as we left my brother’s home on our way to the facility I saw a fabulous specimen lying on the ground for her collection I was compelled to bring it to her and she loved it. Life is still good!

(c) Evelyn Garone 9/19/12

About Evie Garone

I am an outspoken woman with independent views of the world. I am spiritual but also realistic. I've successfully raised two men who I've sent off to college and am now following my love of the arts, including painting, drawing and writing. Thus, two blogs, two books I sporadically work on, voracious reading, among other loves keep me busy.
This entry was posted in afterlife, Dads, death, family, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

