Sad News from FB !#

I don’t usually go looking for friends on FaceBook, I have my present life and I’m happy with it. When I first opened my FB account, I think I may have been more interested in talking with some old friends, but soon learned that as for high school friends, it’s 30 years later and I don’t necessarily have anything in common with a lot of these people. Some tried talking, but since we are so spread out upon the globe it seemed after the first few words, there was nothing left to say.  Some people didn’t even pursue a conversation after friend requests, so I felt compelled to delete them because I felt like there was no reason they were my “supposed” friends. I do not call friends people who do not speak to me but just post FB stuff and it shows up on my page.  No offense, but I don’t care what you are doing with your life after 30 years enough to see and read your every conscious thought. I may sound mean, but if we were not even good friends 30 yrs. ago, why are we faking it now?

When I was in High School I had a best friend who had moved to NYC to be with her father and step-mother so as we were so close, I spent almost every weekend in the city with her. This separated me from my high school compatriots as I was living a different life. I kept friendly with a few girls, but mostly I had already moved on. When we graduated, I immediately moved to NYC to work there and never looked back. I did keep one friend in NJ whom I just learned died. It is so sad that we hear of our old friends deaths unexpectedly from others through IM on Facebook.

I told this new/old friend from high school about another’s death, too. He was someone I had just started IM on Facebook when for some reason, he killed himself. It was so sad to hear then, and so sad to hear today about my other best friend. Unfortunately, in this age of distance and constant moving, I guess this is the way you hear of these awful things.

These memories are so sad. I was happy my new friend from FB looked me up, I liked her in high school, but my heart is a little broken hearing about the death of my old friend. I had to call my husband and shed a few tears. We had been friends all through high school and after. I even attended her wedding. When she got in touch with me about 9 yrs. ago we got together and were reinventing our friendship. Unfortunately, I then moved to Arizona and we again lost touch. I tried checking her FB page and calling her and thought since I knew she was going through a bad divorce, perhaps she was keeping a low profile. We spoke of her coming to see me in Arizona or meeting in Vegas, but obviously this will never happen now!

What wonderful and horrible things have you learned via FB?

© Evelyn Garone

About Evie Garone

I am an outspoken woman with independent views of the world. I am spiritual but also realistic. I've successfully raised two men who I've sent off to college and am now following my love of the arts, including painting, drawing and writing. Thus, two blogs, two books I sporadically work on, voracious reading, among other loves keep me busy.
This entry was posted in death, Face Book, Friends, new, News, Privacy, Shit I need To Know and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Sad News from FB !#

  1. Actually, just today, my old best friend from Jr High messaged me. Her 3 year old and two other best friends want to get friendship necklaces. It reminded her of me and the split necklace I got her when she was 14. My part said BE FRI and her half has ST ENDS. She wants me to call her so we can catch up. Of course It was also through Facebook that I learned about the murder of one of my classmates (still unsolved) and the early death of another two. One from an aneurysm and the other due to steroid abuse. So for me, it’s been a mixed bag.

    Like

    • Evie Garone says:

      Kitt, sometimes life is so complicated. The news we receive from FB can be good and bad, but I guess it’s just a microcosm of life. Life is bittersweet . . . we need to accept the bad and enjoy the sweet and good. I love this info. you shared of your Jr. High friend…how sweet! I hope you enjoy the reunion with your good friend.

      Like

Leave a Reply

