Unpleasant Commenters On Blogs

It’s amazing that it’s taken as long as it has (I’ve been writing for at least 2 yrs.) for me to get a commenter who decided to read one of my political blogs and not only disagree vehemently (which is fine, everyone can’t agree on politics, I know that!) but get ugly! I’m all for debating on blogs, but to read someone’s blog that is diametrically opposed to your political view and not only lie about what the politicians say but about what I say just seems weird. It seems to me, as I know I am a hater of Obama and I shamelessly and proudly state it, that when someone who is an Obama lover would start reading my blog see the content, shake their head in dismay, and leave.

Why bother to harass me? I thought I made it obvious we were of different persuasions and our ideals would never meet, nor could we ever change each others minds. He decided to call Romney a liar time and again, besides worse, call me a liar, misquote me, and belittle me and not admit it. I decided to engage in the discourse, tried to stay above the dirt, but must admit, eventually got down and dirty with him while he slung the mud, lies, rhetoric, and ugly words. He excused Obama’s lies after called on them many times.

I wonder what motivates such people? Politics sure do make strange bedfellows and people really can get carried away. I have to admit I did find myself commenting on a Pro-Obama bloggers blog, but we kept it civil. I had never bothered to read let alone comment on a Pro-Obama anything before, I was moved to when I saw the title was about Obama winning the debate. I had to ask the author if he was serious. We both kept it civil  and I left after our 2 comments each with us both wishing each other well and finding common ground of both our fathers fighting for us having the freedom to voice our opinions. That is the way to handle a mature debate.

What do you think and have you had any unfortunate experiences?

© Evelyn Garone 10/11/12

About Evie Garone

I am an outspoken woman with independent views of the world. I am spiritual but also realistic. I've successfully raised two men who I've sent off to college and am now following my love of the arts, including painting, drawing and writing. Thus, two blogs, two books I sporadically work on, voracious reading, among other loves keep me busy.
This entry was posted in Blogging and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Unpleasant Commenters On Blogs

  1. idiotprufs says:

    Nasty commenters are funny.

    Like

    • Evie Garone says:

      Yea….that’s why I left this guys comments up even though he brought out the worst in me and the comments got quite trashy…I had to show the underside of real life! Thanks for reading Evie

      Like

Leave a Reply

