How To Shake People UP?

Is the only way to get people to engage to be controversial? If you talk about politics or something controversial like abortion which I would never do, would that get people  talking….yes I think so. Otherwise, I think American people are in a state of ennui.

It seems to me that must be why talk radio people have sunk to the lowest common denominator. If you want a reaction, you must shock. Perhaps this is what people want? Perhaps that is why television shows have seemed to resort to all the reality shows that seem to “top” each other in their depravity? Is this it what people want? Unfortunately, though people will shake their heads, tut tut, but watch and talk at the water coolers the next day, they do watch. Someone is watching “The Kardashians.” People are watching “Here Comes Honey Boo Boo”. Someone has to be watching “The Housewives of New Jersey” and all the other “Housewives” or they wouldn’t be on.  I don’t get it.

What does this say about America? I’m not sure. Is it just innocent escapism? I don’t think so. Call me old-fashioned, but I think it’s a commentary on the unraveling of American values. Do people want to see people who are more messed up than they are, perhaps. How sad.

Thank God there still are some shows worth watching . . . I know a lot of people watch “Dancing With The Stars”.  I don’t think that has any bad connotations. I enjoy “The Voice” and except for some of the questionable comments CeeLo makes once in a while, I think it’s pretty innocuous. I’m sure I’ve missed many more good and bad, these were just examples!

(c) Evelyn Garone 10/26/12

About Evie Garone

I am an outspoken woman with independent views of the world. I am spiritual but also realistic. I've successfully raised two men who I've sent off to college and am now following my love of the arts, including painting, drawing and writing. Thus, two blogs, two books I sporadically work on, voracious reading, among other loves keep me busy.
This entry was posted in Beauty, Blogging, Dancing With The Stars, interesting, new, Shit I need To Know, The Voice, TV, Uncategorized, WTF and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

