Music Has Charms To Soothe The Savage Breast

screen-shot-2010-04-26-at-3-58-23-pm-300x217Whenever I find myself in a mood….and when I say in a “mood”, I mean bitchy or otherwise not pleasant or uplifted I’ve realized I need to break it or it will get a firm hold on me. It might be because of getting up on the wrong side of the bed from bad dreams, or from listening to the news, for we all know the news media is so fond of sensationalizing bad news 24/7. Sometime it can be too easy to dwell in that place of negativity and that is not a good place to be.

To break that spell I’ve decided that a shot of something positive must be administered as soon as possible. No not alcohol! It can be as simple as blasting some good music. Try it. Today I had on talk radio, which I sometimes enjoy for inspiration for blogging…but the radio jocks make their money these days peddling vitriol and negativity non-stop and I can only take so much when I realize it actually affects my mood conversely.

Letting outside influences affect us is something to be guarded against. We need to put up our shields to protect ourselves. Some people are more sensitive than others. Negative influences roll off some people like water off a ducks back, but others may be adversely influenced and not even realize it. You can ask your guides and spirits to protect you with white light at the start of every new day and when you go to bed at night for in the evening when you sleep the veil gets thin.

If you find yourself in a funk, try something positive, do something you like, take a break from something that is overwhelming you and as mentioned above listen to some uplifting music, sing, dance, exercise, do some yoga it can help break the spell of negativity. Don’t let yourself dwell there. Go out take a walk in nature, talk to a positive friend on the phone. Draw, take some pictures, anything that will get you moving and forget the negative is always good for your psyche.

Do not let yourself be drawn into others dramas. If you meet toxic people who want to share their stories of woe, listen, but do not take it onto yourself. Listen, be kind, but if it is always the same thing, again protect yourself with white light and wean yourself from this toxic friendship. Some people thrive on drama and want to share it. Some people are vampiric in nature and want your positive energy and will drain it from you. Surround yourself with positive people and positive exercises and you will live a more positive life!

(c) Evelyn Garone 1.11.13

About Evie Garone

I am an outspoken woman with independent views of the world. I am spiritual but also realistic. I've successfully raised two men who I've sent off to college and am now following my love of the arts, including painting, drawing and writing. Thus, two blogs, two books I sporadically work on, voracious reading, among other loves keep me busy.
This entry was posted in advice, artistic, esoteric, God, Goddess, IMHO, Music, Opinion, Shit I need To Know, spiritual, Spirituality, Uncategorized, Work Outs, writing, Yoga and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

