Oh Oxygen Network, Please Don’t Shawty Us!

Shawty-Lo-All-My-Babies-MamasIn the news these days is the controversy on a new Reality TV series called “All My Babies Mamas” endearing a whole new family to American viewers. What, what?! I hope Oxygen is just pranking us trying to garner some publicity for their network which is partly owned by Oprah Winfrey.

Firstly let me state that I’m surprised that Oprah would have anything to do with such a negatively-based representation of African American people when her platform had always been to raise her people up. But money and fame will do funny things to people and Oprah has all but disappeared from the “scene” and may be missing it. Or to be the devils advocate, perhaps she had nothing to do or say with this questionable at best decision by The Oxygen Network to produce such a horribly negative representation of family life.

The premise of this fabulous idea of a TV show is to glamorize a Hip Hop rapper and his 10 girlfriends and eleven children of whom he can’t even name in an interview. What scares me even more is the idea that there might be people out there who want to watch this trash. When Shawty Lo was interviewed on MTV he was surprised people weren’t happy that he was taking care of his 11 children, though isn’t that only proper, Shawty? If you give them life, you should stand by them. So, no we’re not proud of you….you are just doing what the rest of us normal people are doing everyday, raising the children we gave life to. If you wanted praise and accolades, get it on stage from your performances. If you didn’t want the responsibility of the children you could have “kept it in your pants”!

When did this country sink to this degradation of morals? I blame the 60’s and the “free love” and  “if it feels good do it” mentality. I know I’m sounding old and old fashioned but as I mature and look around me I see the underpinning of America being eroded and there has to be a beginning of the erosion. I think as family values are thrown to the side, where responsibility is shirked, there is a shift in a whole nations stability. There are always consequences for actions, prices to be paid for lapses, no one gets away free, and there is always karma to be paid and we’re paying it in spades. When even the current President says it’s okay to have children out-of-wedlock what kind of message is that sending to the youth of America? Aren’t children better off in a home with both interested and involved parents who love each other, not who’ve had casual sex and conceived a baby for no other reason than to collect a check or to garner attention from the other partner who was never interested in the first place or because they are under the influence of drugs or their birth control fails? When we glamorize single parenthood because Hollywood millionaires or Hip Hop moguls can do it and suffer no financial woes it’s not the same for average teenagers and shouldn’t be touted as a great thing. Where are those same millionaires for the broke TV watching teens when the illegitimate  children are born……busy with their lives, as their nannies watch their children.

There are many people fighting the release of the show “All My Babies Mamas” and the point has nothing to do with racism or any other ridiculous assertions you’ll hear. It has to do with American people finally having enough of the Sodom and Gomorrah like actions of this run wild nation! It doesn’t matter if you are black, white, or purple to be disgusted by the premise of this show! It is a disgrace to put 10 irresponsible women who have nothing in common but having slept with the same irresponsible man and having his baby in the same house to fight and kibitz and embarrass a nation. Is it going to add value to these children’s lives? Why birth control wasn’t used properly is just one factor in this travesty. Why these “women” would even have sex with this “man” knowing his checkered past is beyond me. As I heard a commentator mention, though supposedly Shawty Lo, aka Carlos Walker is now taking care of his 11 illegitimate children, if some intrepid reporter digs deeper will they find any of the mothers also getting welfare and any other government funded handouts? Perhaps it is not so, I just am curious why 10 women would have children from the same man…….were they looking for money from Shawty Lo since he is supposedly worth $2 million and are now thrilled to be getting their 15 minutes of fame by being included on this TV show? FYI his current girlfriend is 19, the same age as his oldest daughter and he is 36. Hmmmmm, not bad for Shawty…..he always seems to get the better end of the deal. I’m sure Oxygen TV is or was going to pay him a good fee for the show and help with the house they were putting the “family” up in.  Too bad it seems like the show is not going to come to fruition, as a nation has finally had enough!

These are points I ponder as I wonder what a world my grown children are going to be taking over and bringing my grandchildren into. I’m just happy I gave them a strong foundation and hope for the best!

What do you think?

(c) Evelyn Garone 1.14.13

About Evie Garone

I am an outspoken woman with independent views of the world. I am spiritual but also realistic. I've successfully raised two men who I've sent off to college and am now following my love of the arts, including painting, drawing and writing. Thus, two blogs, two books I sporadically work on, voracious reading, among other loves keep me busy.
This entry was posted in current affairs, debate, Entertainment, Humor, interesting, Media, Men, money, new, News, Opinion, Social commentary, television, TV, WTF and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

