Writing for the Public

typing on keyboardAs I find myself at the keyboard wondering what to write about today I realize how hard it is to know what people will want to read. Do I write about what I want to write about, what is relevant in the news or anything under the sun? Sometimes the muse hits and I know just what to write……sometimes a poem comes to me and I feel I must get it down on paper, but other times I’m stymied and wish I had an editor to assign me a set topic.

It’s hard to tell what will move people. The public is as fickle as I am I realize, as I wonder why some articles I wrote were not “liked” or “commented” on and others were very well received. As this global community has spread and there is just so much information out there all us bloggers are competing for the reading public’s time and finally an audience. People only have a small window available to read so perhaps if you can grab the reader right away with the title you’ve won half the battle? Most people probably have a limited interest in news and can get that from hard hitting news sources so they probably don’t want my recap. We’ve all heard too much about the sequester and other things as it is.

I do know that people seem to respond to positive stories and everyone seems to love funny-cats-13viewing cats. I can’t quite get over the funny cat picture phenomenon though I’m assuming that when people turn to their personal computer time, they are looking for a little pleasure and light-heartedness and cats seem to fit the bill for millions of viewers. (I couldn’t resist adding the pic!)

I do know that my travel blogs usually interest people and I happen to have two trips planned, so stay tuned…I hope I can come up with more articles in the future that make us all happy, my mind is busy working on it, for I love to know people are reading and liking.

Evelyn Garone 4.8.13

About Evie Garone

I am an outspoken woman with independent views of the world. I am spiritual but also realistic. I've successfully raised two men who I've sent off to college and am now following my love of the arts, including painting, drawing and writing. Thus, two blogs, two books I sporadically work on, voracious reading, among other loves keep me busy.
This entry was posted in Blogging, Cats, Media, News, Pets, politics, Uncategorized, writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

