Men….

SHUTTLE BUS

I had to calm down from the debacle of last night before I could even write this blog today.

Now I want you to understand, I LOVE men, don’t get me wrong, but sometimes they are just so clueless, it’s amazing. (Please don’t barrage me with negative comments guys, I’m sure you have your issues with us women!)

My husband handled all the plans for our upcoming trip for a “big” birthday of mine……no, never mind how old I’m going to be, that isn’t germane to the story. Anyway, back to the point. I have left traveling plans in my husbands hands since our travel-agent is his brother, though perhaps that was my first mistake?! I thought he and his brother could handle the situation, but as it came to our attention last night things aren’t what we thought, thankfully in time. Guys just don’t think the same way we women do, and I’m not saying who’s right or wrong, they just don’t think the same things are important and they don’t necessarily take our thoughts and feelings into account when handling things that will affect us, the emotional beings we are.

My husband and I are going to Puerto Rico, but for his own reasons and interests he needs to go to NJ first to go to a car race he has been attending every years for about 40 straight years, since he was about 10 yrs. old. This I understand and am behind wholeheartedly, I’m happy he has his interests. But though he feels he must attend it on my birthday, he thought he had to do something to make up for it, I think. So instead of just going round trip, then coming home where he and I could make our trip together he had to try to get “fancy”  and decide we should fly at the same time, to our different destinations so he could take me to the airport and see me off. That’s all well and good, send me to Puerto Rico alone and catch up with me in 2 days…….I am a big girl, I can travel alone and have. My only request was for a car to pick me up at the luggage carousel and take me to the resort so I would not have to handle my giant suitcase alone and the obnoxious gauntlet of cabbies and other unsavory characters you find at Island Airports trying to scam you to take their cab and then charge you an exorbitant fee or to buy a condo.

My husband had assured me for months that this was the case. A man with my name on a card would be waiting to wisk me away at the airportpuerto Rico airport

to my awaiting chariot and drive me to my desired destination, the resort, or so he thought. I guess I am partly to blame….we have had the information for weeks, I could have perused it and saw this wasn’t true. But I took him at his word………

Unfortunately when we decided to look at the booklet last night, 1 day before the trip, we see that a shuttle will be there at the airport waiting for me, NOT a car. So, I’m assuming I will have to run the gauntlet of all the non-sense that happens at airports, unsolicited cabbies harassing me under the guise of “helpful” guides and such. When I found out this information, I lost it! I was so angry that my only request for this whole trip was messed up and no one was aware of it……I would have been standing there like a boob waiting for my car service for God knows how long!

I don’t know if it was his oversight or his brother’s advice that changed MY plans without my input, but I was so furious. When we called my brother-in-law I spoke with my sister-in-law who tried to talk me down. I know I was unhinged, but I don’t like people changing my plans without my opinion. She assured me that the problem could be worked out. It seems when I finally spoke to my brother-in-law, he saw no need for an expensive “car service”…..the shuttle was fine in his opinion and my husbands. It seems that both men thought I was over-reacting……..but I’m the one traveling alone and I’m the one who feels the need for the car for my peace of mind. Is that too much to ask?

I have finally calmed down enough to realize for some reason I may have over-reacted last night, unfortunately that is my MO at times of stress. Perhaps I am more worried about the upcoming “big” birthday and the flying alone than I thought!

The problem did work it’s way out with my brother-in-law calling American Express and checking on the situation today for clarification. It seems that the shuttle service man will be waiting for me at the baggage carousel to take my luggage and me to the shuttle bus. If only either Man had been aware (remembered) of this, or if American Express had typed this on the travel plans all need for a meltdown could have been avoided. My husband did make a choice, albeit an acceptable one without my opinion, but had forgotten in the interim to tell me the change of plans. Isn’t memory a great thing to lose? NOT! He did pay a modest fee for the meet-and-greet service but to put my mind at rest is priceless.

Now I’m the one who looks the fool for over-reacting! Damn…I hate when that happens!

So though I think men are crazy I’m sure men think we women are crazy…we’re just so different. It’s a learning experience everyday, realizing though we love someone we will never understand them!

What irks you with the opposite sex…….what sets you off?! Are you the patient one in the relationship or are you the emotional one?

Evelyn Garone 5.29.13

About Evie Garone

I am an outspoken woman with independent views of the world. I am spiritual but also realistic. I've successfully raised two men who I've sent off to college and am now following my love of the arts, including painting, drawing and writing. Thus, two blogs, two books I sporadically work on, voracious reading, among other loves keep me busy.
This entry was posted in car service, melt-down, Men, Puerto Rico, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Men….

  1. I’m the emotional one so I can only concur lol

    Like

Leave a Reply

