Our Loss Of Privacy

unhappy cell phone

We’ve all been caught up in the growth of the use of personal computers, cell phones, iPads, etc. but did we ever realize how they would erode privacy in our daily lives?

When our phone rings do we have to answer it? We really shouldn’t if we’re not in the mood to talk……….what the person on the other end doesn’t realize is that though it’s a good time for them to talk it may not be for us. Maybe if we answer to see if it’s important, then beg off if not, it would make more sense than engaging in a conversation we don’t want to continue. We’re all guilty of it, though I usually try to ask if it’s okay for a person to talk, I’d rather they say no than fake it and either not really pay attention while multi-tasking, appear grumpy because I woke them up while copiously yawning, though assuring me it’s okay to talk or not engage at all in the conversation implying that I am bothering them.

It’s our personal space and just because our phone rings doesn’t mean we have to answer the summons. We can always get ourselves together, finish the current business we’re attending to and call the person back. Unless we’re feeling guilty about not keeping in touch, why do we answer the call when we’re not ready to pay full attention to a live person…..are we like Pavlov’s dog and feel that we have to answer it because we’ve been programmed to answer no matter what?! Perhaps there is something better or more stimulating right around the corner so we better see what they’re offering us?

When my COX home phone rings through my television I know who’s calling, thank the Goddess, so when it’s telemarketers, “unavailable” or people who want to chat while I’m watching my favorite show at night with my husband, sharing “down” time I ignore it. I have an answering machine, they can leave a message and I can get back to them when it’s more convenient for me to really give them my full undivided attention. The phone was invented as a convenience not a nuisance!

Perhaps people don’t know how to use the phone to talk anymore. The world now seems to revolve around emails, texting, and messaging which we can answer whenever we feel like it as evasively as we wish without repercussions, it’s not the same kind of immediate response with feelings interchanged involving obvious results and personal responsibility so maybe people have forgotten how to communicate with a live person correctly?!

What do you think? Just my observations and two cents thrown in for good measure.

© Evelyn Garone 6.23.13

About Evie Garone

I am an outspoken woman with independent views of the world. I am spiritual but also realistic. I've successfully raised two men who I've sent off to college and am now following my love of the arts, including painting, drawing and writing. Thus, two blogs, two books I sporadically work on, voracious reading, among other loves keep me busy.
This entry was posted in Blogging, cell phones, e-mails, habits, new, Opinion, pet peeves, Privacy, Rants, smart phones and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Our Loss Of Privacy

  1. Damyanti says:

    You are so right. We do everything we can to not have to pick up the phone and call.

    Like

  2. Arlene York says:

    The phone calls are almost never for me, unless it’s my dad, that’s the only time I pick it up. I usually keep my ringer off all the time anyway, since the noise always startles me. My mom never picks it up unless she recognizes the number, which is really annoying because we have to sit there listening to the phone ring, and somtimes even if it is people she knows it will say “unknown number”.

    Like

Leave a Reply

