Volunteering at The Arizona Humane Society Thrift Store

AHS Thrift Store

Today I decided to do another thing outside my box. I’ve wanted to do something purposeful so I decided to volunteer and I’m glad I did. I took a class at my local Arizona Humane Society to volunteer my time for Gods creatures who need help. I started by taking the first orientation class and am awaiting my future classes to work with the cats and critters. (bunnies, guinea pigs, rats, gerbils, etc.)

kitten-rabbit_1250036i

In the meantime, I took the second step by actually volunteering 4 hours today at my local AHS Thrift Store and had a very nice experience. It was a very nice group of women to work with while I learned what to do in the store for my first day. I look forward to many more hours working there for such a good cause. Did you know that it takes almost $300.00 to prepare an animal for adoption, all from donations? So every dollar donated helps and all your donations no matter how small are greatly appreciated…they take donated household goods, etc. and of course money. Guess what….even shopping helps….go figure?!

The work was hard but enjoyable and put me around clothes and people so it made me a happy person. Knowing that in some small way I was helping a good cause and part of the bigger picture makes me happy, it’s such a simple thing to do….give a little time.

If you have some free time, perhaps you might want to check it out. The people there all seemed happy and were very “into” the cause. They were so busy working hard it was amazing and heartwarming, all as volunteers.

Also, don’t forget to get the word out about spaying and neutering….it’s amazing the amount of offspring a cat can have……in a 7 yr. stretch 1 pair of cats can reproduce through their line 370,000 kittens and a pair of dogs can sire through their line 68,000 puppies in 6 yrs. So spaying and neutering is very important.

How have you felt the need to help in your community? I’d love to know…

© Evelyn Garone 10.7.13

About Evie Garone

I am an outspoken woman with independent views of the world. I am spiritual but also realistic. I've successfully raised two men who I've sent off to college and am now following my love of the arts, including painting, drawing and writing. Thus, two blogs, two books I sporadically work on, voracious reading, among other loves keep me busy.
This entry was posted in animals, Cats, dogs, Education, neutering, Pets, spaying, Volunteer and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

