Super Bowl Hype

2014_superbowl_header_lg

Now that it’s Monday, we can all recollect ourselves and get back to real life! The Super Bowl is over…Thank God! What a disappointment is was. Expecting the game to be a dynamic display of battle between modern day warriors just didn’t happen. The Seattle Seahawks tromped all over the Denver Broncos. The game itself was a major let-down unless perhaps you are a Seahawks fan.

gatorade

Personally, I had no horse in the race. I didn’t care who won. It would have been nice though to see a game where there seemed to be some real competition but the Seahawks defense made mincemeat of the Broncos. Unfortunately for Manning, he seemed to fall apart throwing two interceptions. He’ll be remembered for being a great player, but I wonder if his career is over?

manning

The build up to the Super Bowl is what I find quite amazing. It’s turned into such a money grab for everyone, it’s talked about for weeks. The grocery stores are all in with the sale of pre-cooked wings and ribs outside the store for Super Bowl parties. People are abuzz with talk of the commercials, for God’s sakes…….do we realize people are looking forward to commercials? Isn’t that kind of weird, or should I say the advertisers are doing their job……and well! Forget about the price of the tickets themselves…..

The (PEPSI) Half-time show was great, I’ll give them that. Bruno Mars did not disappoint, such a vast improvement over Madonna and The Who in previous years. He was wonderful. He is such a throw back to Jackie Wilson with his dance moves and I didn’t know he could play the drums. That was my favorite part of the whole damn Super Bowl. The Red Hot Chile Peppers are a little irrelevant to me, but what do I know? True to form Flea showed up with no shirt, so I’m sure his fans were happy!

Pepsi Super Bowl XLVIII Halftime Show

Bruno Mars

jackie wilson

Jackie Wilson

The whole “Hollywood” like enterprise was centered around NYC, what was that about? They even changed the meeting of 40th St. & Broadway to Super Bowl Blvd. to celebrate the big day when it was being played in New Jersey!

Supposedly the little town of East Rutherford, New Jersey where the (METLIFE) stadium actually is where the big game was being played was not allowed to use the phrase “Super Bowl” in describing their planned block party for those not able to attend the game. The phrase is copyrighted, I get it, but there should have been some credit to East Rutherford, NJ.  The party went on anyway, and as the Mayor of East Rutherford said everyone knows what the big game is and what the party was for!

I hope if football is your game, you enjoyed it, or at least the commercials. Perhaps your party was more fun than the game itself…..but as for Monday morning quarterbacking, I’m glad it’s over!

© Evelyn Garone 2.3.14

About Evie Garone

I am an outspoken woman with independent views of the world. I am spiritual but also realistic. I've successfully raised two men who I've sent off to college and am now following my love of the arts, including painting, drawing and writing. Thus, two blogs, two books I sporadically work on, voracious reading, among other loves keep me busy.
This entry was posted in Denver Broncos, Football, Men, Seattle Seahawks, Sports, Super Bowl and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

