I WON!

??????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????

 

I won the Presidency for my Ladies Club……..but I still haven’t decided if it’s an honor or a curse.

There is much disharmony and division in our group. It was there hiding in plain sight before I decided to throw my hat in the ring, my action just seems to have been a catalyst for more division and perhaps the final straw to break the club.

I’m getting all kinds of advice from my supporters, but it’s contrary and seems to come from a place of their own angst and baggage. I no longer know who to trust.

As for the other side, which I didn’t really know existed until I had the nerve to throw my hat in the ring against the nominee has been down-right dirty and biased through the whole campaign. The reigning President or as a think of her, “The Queen”, today sent out a group email notifying us that firstly someone forgot a black sweater at the luncheon, a small announcement that I would be the new President (no congratulations included) but only won by two votes then listed her thanks to everyone who had helped, including thanking the other candidate for running a good campaign. How odd, don’t cha think? How small of her. I will let it go as I have everything else they have thrown at me during an ugly campaign for I AM the bigger person, but I have to say it’s getting old and tired. It needs to stop. My soul and heart are sick.

I’m waiting to see what the VP elect does now since she already picked sides by running her bio and campaign ad on FB aligning herself with the other candidate as a team, leaving me out to dry with no VP. Nice…..just par for the course.

My supposed supporters think I should wait until she decides what to do….I will give her some time. Perhaps she was shocked at the results of the vote when I won. Perhaps that’s why she left the building without congratulating me. I suppose there will be some plausible excuse for her as there has been for every inexcusable bias and break from decorum that’s been done to me during this whole debacle! I just hope she comes to her senses and decides to resign as she obviously doesn’t want to work WITH me for the betterment of the club or she wouldn’t have called me derisive names and made that unprecedented move of choosing a running mate and calling themselves a team.

This choice of my running for President was my choice. I honestly thought this would be a civil campaign fought fairly between adults – a simple choice put before the people to pick who they wanted to lead a simple Women’s Group. A place where they all just want to “have fun” as it has been so succinctly put to me by people who have an opinion about everything, but choose not to take an active role in. It has turned into so much more.

It has turned into one of the most contentious things I’ve ever done in my life. I’ve had to witness first hand vitriol that I didn’t actually create simmer, boil and cascade over on social media where people have no filters and no forethought, where they should (perhaps?) stop and think before they state their ugly opinion, for once stated/written they refuse to hear another’s and it can’t be taken back…it’s there for everyone to see for eternity! It is as I’ve said before just a microcosm of life. I believe social media has enabled people to be brazen with their unbridled opinion, then run and hide. If it wasn’t for social media they so hate (supposedly) they wouldn’t be able to have had such a large audience themselves in the first place, right?

Personally, I think people shouldn’t be spewing anything hateful. They shouldn’t write something they wouldn’t say to someone’s face. People should cool down when upset for at least 24 hours before pushing the send button, for you can’t take it back once it’s been sent. People interpret even the most benign things with their own filter and people tend to think the worst.

So I’ve won, but have I? I will try to unite the group and do my best but will people help and let me? Only time will tell.

© Evelyn Garone 5.12.14

 

About Evie Garone

I am an outspoken woman with independent views of the world. I am spiritual but also realistic. I've successfully raised two men who I've sent off to college and am now following my love of the arts, including painting, drawing and writing. Thus, two blogs, two books I sporadically work on, voracious reading, among other loves keep me busy.
This entry was posted in Blogging, Etiquette, humans, lessons, Opinion, social media, Women, Women Groups, writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

