Another One of My Great Ideas Gone Awry

tv-over fireplace

A few years ago I decided that we needed a new TV. Well, since we were going to purchase one and install it, since the latest models of course were flat screens, I decided the best idea would be to install a whole entertainment center from soup to nuts.

That included surround sound speakers in the ceiling, a new receiver to deliver the best sound possible, of course hooked up to a blue ray DVD player, hooked up to outside music speakers, etc. The whole nine yards all controlled by one universal remote. Needless to say this has not been a seamless transition.

In my innocence or ignorance I should say, I thought you call in some referred experts, and Viola, done! Yeah, in a perfect world. This journey has been fraught with so many pitfalls, I’ve been close to a nervous breakdown innumerable times. All my husband and I want to do is watch a little TV at night and chill. Is that too much to ask? Apparently so…

From the company that installed everything including the upgraded intercom system including my 6-player CD which just died for more money than I’d like to admit, to never answering their phone we’ve had problems, to the company dissolving probably for exactly that problem or for using sub-par equipment which I was lucky enough to be the recipient of that has since died in a remarkably short 4-5 years it has been a joy of listening and watching experience – NOT! When it works it’s great, when it doesn’t it’s a nightmare for a personality like mine that gets upset by problems that I can’t control. My husband on the other hand, thank god takes them in stride and remains calm.

So, just recently we’ve had the CD player and the TV die in the same week. On to the new company. I called the maker of the Intercom/CD player thinking they’d be able to do a quick fix, but no that would have been too simple. So, $500 dollars later by a company oreferred by them I now have a refurbished (they don’t make new) CD/MP3 player in my wall.

Then the TV broke after the process of elimination was reached. $2,000 later we purchased the newest, biggest, best TV we could fit in the spot, hey if you need one you might as well go for it, right? So we ended up with a Smart, LCD 60″. $500 later it was installed. Two days we watched it then it started acting up, again we called the TV Wizards and by process of elimination we have decided it’s the cable box. He told me to get the latest greatest cable box if we could since all the other digital ones are refurbished so perhaps that’s why this is our third box with problems (don’t even ask) We hoped that would be it. So we went to the cable store and got a new cable box. While there, the cable guy told us all the cable boxes are refurbished and we could get Contour TV with the newest, latest greatest box, with no issues and it would actually save us $4/month. So we got a box to tide us over and we’re getting Contour installed Saturday. Guess what?. The Jabroni at the Cox Cable store put the two processes on the same work order so when we got home the cable box would not work since he accidently already signed us up for Contour to start immediately. Oh God grant me the strength…..I know it’s just TV, but it’s so frustrating! Some good news, while the Wizard was here he installed speaker wires to the TV so we don’t have to do 4 functions just to turn the TV on. Why can’t anyone do it right the first time? He had to get a ladder and a owners manual out and spend time reading what to do, I guess he was avoiding that…..much easier to make us do 4 functions than work extra hard.

My husband just wants his old black and white TV with the rabbit ears and tin foil!!! Life was simpler, cost less and had less to go wrong! If you are not technologically savvy you are at the mercy of the techies and what they say.

So right now we’re looking at our big piece of art on the wall – it depicts a black cat on a starless night night eating a black piece of licorice. You should come see it, it’s beautiful! Who needs TV?!

© Evelyn Garone 6.13.14

About Evie Garone

I am an outspoken woman with independent views of the world. I am spiritual but also realistic. I've successfully raised two men who I've sent off to college and am now following my love of the arts, including painting, drawing and writing. Thus, two blogs, two books I sporadically work on, voracious reading, among other loves keep me busy.
This entry was posted in Adult Humor, cable, funny, humans, Humor, Men, smart tv, techies, TV and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

