To Valet or Not Valet?

black audi

I’m currently rethinking my whole view on valeting my car. I have no physical proof of what caused my newest cluster fuck except that there is damage to my car’s undercarriage that is going to cost $3,200 that neither my husband nor I did.

I’m sure you’ve heard tell of horror stories of Valet drivers abusing cars, taking them out for joy-rides, but I thought it was just urban legend. I’ve always Valeted my car in hopes of protecting it from dings, etc. of other careless drivers.

Well, as usual we have no control over our lives, do we?

My husband and I had been out both Friday and Saturday and valeted my A5 Audi convertible. On Saturday night and Sunday my husband noticed a “different” noise from the car. He brought it to my attention, suggesting wheel bearings as a possible problem. As a passenger, I didn’t really hear it, told him he was nuts, but once put in my mind, I was nervous there was something wrong and as I was driving Tuesday I thought I heard it too.

I left the car at Audi, expecting a run of the mill problem they could take care of but was I sadly mistaken. The horrible phone call came in the afternoon, expecting to be able to pick up the car, the service man at Audi described a myriad of problems that could only have come from some kind of  impact which neither my husband nor I did. I think we’d remember this — he then mentioned we’d have to run it through our insurance, and as we sat there taking it in, we were mystified and horrified at the cost of the damage.

The diagnosis was an impact crack to the front carrier frame, the carrier frame supports the radiator and all other parts in the front of the car,  a hole in the belly pan shield and damage to wheel bearings. As I listened to this repair-man tell me things I had no concept of, I handed off the phone to my husband in shock. He also was so shocked he demanded to see the car up on the lift and off we went to the repair shop, hoping there was some mistake. When we saw it we were both upset and completely mystified. We know we didn’t do this damage, how did it happen?

Our only guess is that the damage was not there before we Valeted it and was mysteriously there after valeting. You make your own judgement.

I know after this odyssey of repair people, insurance carriers, etc. I will not be valeting my car anymore! I only hope my insurance doesn’t go up for something as strange as this.

Any thoughts or comments….I wonder if this has happened to others?

© Evelyn Garone 9/17/14

About Evie Garone

I am an outspoken woman with independent views of the world. I am spiritual but also realistic. I've successfully raised two men who I've sent off to college and am now following my love of the arts, including painting, drawing and writing. Thus, two blogs, two books I sporadically work on, voracious reading, among other loves keep me busy.
This entry was posted in car service, creative writing, Driving, human nature, Insurance, life, writing, WTF and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

