Cupping – Fad or Age Old Remedy?

cupping right

My right side two days after cupping © E. Garone

cupping left

My left side two days later © E. Garone

What is Cupping?

“Cupping is an ancient Chinese therapy in which a cup is applied to the skin and the pressure in the cup is reduced (either by heat or suction) in order to draw and hold skin and superficial muscles inside the cup. Sometimes, while the suction is active, the cup is moved, causing the skin and muscle to be pulled. This is called gliding cupping.

Cupping is based on the meridian theory of the body. On one hand, cupping removes any stagnation in the body and opens the meridians so that qi can flow freely. On the other, it also helps to rejuvenate certain meridians and organs that are not functioning at their best. From a scientific standpoint, cupping is known to help activate the lymphatic system, promote blood circulation, and is good for deep tissue repair.”

Read more: http://www.naturaltherapypages.com.au/natural_medicine/Cupping#ixzz3EiVR

When dropping into the Acupuncture center Saturday with friends the L.Ac., (acupuncturist) decided when hearing my history of headaches and tight neck muscles to perform cupping on me. I had heard of it, but never partaken. I was game though since she thought it would help some of my symptoms and actual problems.

Today, looking in the mirror and seeing what looks like the daddy of all hickies, I was wondering if the bruises were bad……..supposedly not as they’re not even considered bruises, they are called “cupping marks”. It means the toxins are being or have been released from my muscles. Okay……..I’m not sure if I feel any effects yet but I will say the marks are a little painful and the cupping process is also a little painful. It’s interesting, though and I’m always interested in experiencing new modalities that might help my constant headache pain.

While looking cupping up, I found interesting articles on the usage of cupping extensively in the Chinese community and with the Chinese Olympic team. Isn’t that interesting?I also saw that the Met’s baseball team can be seen with the after-effects of cupping.

Check it out….

This Chinese woman weight-lifter won. Does it work?

BejingWeightLifter cupping

Chinese Olympic swimmer who also won.

swiimimg - cupping

Maybe try it and you be the judge but I’ll pass next time as I haven’t felt any benefits.

© Evelyn Garone 9.29.14

About Evie Garone

I am an outspoken woman with independent views of the world. I am spiritual but also realistic. I've successfully raised two men who I've sent off to college and am now following my love of the arts, including painting, drawing and writing. Thus, two blogs, two books I sporadically work on, voracious reading, among other loves keep me busy.
This entry was posted in acupuncture, cupping, healing, health, Oriental Medicine, Pain. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

