Computer Glitches

ebay_logo_231

If you are like me there is nothing more annoying and frustrating than computer glitches.

I had bid on and won an auction on eBay though unfortunately I wanted to cancel the order. Having already received something similar that had closed a few days earlier, I knew I didn’t want the next shipment of mosaic tiles as they wouldn’t suit my needs. I contacted the seller and she agreed to the cancellation with no problem.

The problem that ensued was on my end to finish the process of cancellation. The link for me to cancel kept denying my cancellation saying “Information is not available at this time”. I proceeded to give it a little time for the information to get through the system and tried again, still no go. I resorted to calling eBay’s 800 phone number for resolution.

The woman talked me through exactly what I had done 10 times already with us still being denied access. She brought me through their system a few different ways and eventually  it did work, but it was more frustrating and time consuming than it should have been for a $2.85 deal.

I will now think before buying on eBay, no offense to the sellers. Envisioning some items from a picture is hard and the result may be displeasure and a whole lot of hoops to jump through to return or cancel. Returning cost is on you and if the price for mailing is more than the item is worth, you are in a quandary what to do, so you keep the inexpensive item even if you’re not happy with it because it’s cheaper than mailing back. Something just seems inherently wrong with this process for the buyer.

Just my 2 cents.

© Evelyn Garone 10.25.14

About Evie Garone

I am an outspoken woman with independent views of the world. I am spiritual but also realistic. I've successfully raised two men who I've sent off to college and am now following my love of the arts, including painting, drawing and writing. Thus, two blogs, two books I sporadically work on, voracious reading, among other loves keep me busy.
This entry was posted in bidding, buying, buying on eBay, cancellation of order, computer glitches, eBay and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

