Up In The Great Blue Yonder

IMG_0132

THE Glider Plane

Yesterday was my son’s and my great adventure in a glider plane. This was something on my son’s bucket list and I was happy to be invited to go with him. We went to Northwest Sky Sports at 8700 W. Carefree Hwy in Peoria and had so much fun. If you live anywhere in the area and are the adventurous type, I highly recommend this! It was quite exciting and exhilarating. Let them know I sent you! I’m sure they would appreciate the business…

me and Luke

 

IMG_0136

This is the seat area where you sit in the plane itself..obviously behind the pilot. It is small and tight but with me being petite and my son not being a giant person, there was plenty of room for us. I’m not sure how comfortable it would be for “big” people, but the thrill would probably outweigh the discomfort for 15-30 minutes. The pilot added cushions for us, belted us in and off we went.

IMG_0131

You start off the ride being towed by a line from another plane and as soon as you’re up high enough they let the line loose. That was when the real excitement starts …you realize that you are no longer attached to anything with a motor….quite eerie. The ride itself is very quiet though our pilot Gary spoke of landmarks and told anecdotes that added to the flight. It’s possible to take pictures, so cameras or phone are an excellent addition to remember and of course sunglasses!

IMG_0147

There are picnic benches and chairs in the shade so if friends or family want to come and watch, it’s very comfortable for them. My husband watched us and thought it was cool to watch us “buzz” the landing strip…..

Our pilot also did a loop de loop which was extremely amazing. To turn over in a plane and become “weightless” is awesome. He also did a nose dive and then came up again….the feeling in your stomach is like being on a carnival ride…stomach turns over….glad I didn’t eat breakfast. No really, it was not bad, it was so much fun! You could see for miles…into the wild blue yonder!

IMG_0149

 

 

IMG_0141

On their site, NORTHWEST SKY SPORTS there are videos of peoples’ flights.. if you are interested, check it out!

My son made the reservation via Group On…. it was $149.00 each and we opted for adding an extra $89. to change the usual 15 minutes flight to 30 minutes instead. We were so glad we did.

I’m not sure what else is on my son’s bucket list, but I told him if he needs a small participant, I’m in!

© Evelyn Garone 10.27.14

 

 

About Evie Garone

I am an outspoken woman with independent views of the world. I am spiritual but also realistic. I've successfully raised two men who I've sent off to college and am now following my love of the arts, including painting, drawing and writing. Thus, two blogs, two books I sporadically work on, voracious reading, among other loves keep me busy.
This entry was posted in adventure, Bucket List, excitement, fun, glider plane and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

