Let Us Remember Sony IS a Japanese-Owned Company

the-interview-poster-james-franco-seth-rogen-kim-jong-un

 

I haven’t heard anyone mention, during all the hubbub about the cyber attack by hackers/North Korea on Sony though it is IN America and is a subsidiary, it is a actually a Japanese-owned company. So though we as Americans may take this as an out-an-out cyber attack on us, though our President only wants to call it “cyber vandalism”, it could be construed as North Korea attacking Japan, not America!

First of all I don’t know if it’s been proven conclusively that the cyber-attack was done by North Korea. It’s being assumed, but not proven conclusively yet.

Secondly, I think it may be seem a minor point, I think a point of distinction that demands attention that Sony is Japanese-owned, not American.

Thirdly, isn’t it interesting that George Clooney, one of the most liberal people I know of, wrote a letter/petition and tried to have others in Hollywood sign it backing Sony and no one would. Rats running from a sinking ship?Afraid what the hackers might have on them? When did we become such a wimpy nation that we let a dictatorship like North Korea dictate to us on the first amendment? When we cave to the bad influence, afraid of what might happen because they are displeased, we have lost the war!

Fourth, I heard Eric Roberts bloviating that we here in America must remember (though he himself thought the movie “The Interview” was funny) we need to be sensitive to other nations, though I have a hard time remembering other nations being sensitive to us! I’m sorry…..there are many movies and TV shows I think are distasteful, so I turn the channel or don’t attend. If Kim Jong Un doesn’t like this comedy, he shouldn’t watch. It is a comedy, he is also the world’s worst dictator, so he might have to get used to some criticism. Perhaps this is what’s wrong with this country and the world…the evil wins as in this case, remember Kim Jong Un had his uncle brutally beaten and fed to dogs, but we need to be sensitive to his feelings!

Fifth, I don’t understand what Sony is actually afraid of that they wouldn’t release the movie? Do they believe that North Koreans are on American soil and would attack the movie theaters where the movie was shown? Are they that afraid of what Hollywood people have said in e-mails? If they (North Korea or hackers) have cyber information in their grasp, they will use it whenever they want…..they’re not going to destroy it because Sony decided not to release one movie……that now means they OWN Sony and maybe Hollywood. Goodbye to creative license and humor….for all humor could offend someone! Our creative freedom may now be over. Don’t get me wrong, I personally don’t care as I no longer attend movies since Hollywood types have decided to use their platform to opine their vitriolic political opinions as if anyone cares about anything other than them reading other people’s words!

In my humble opinion, I believe the hackers have won by Sony giving in to their demands of pulling the release of the movie “The Interview”. This could be just the beginning of cyber-terrorism and that is just what is was!

What do you think?

© Evelyn Garone 12.21.14

 

About Evie Garone

I am an outspoken woman with independent views of the world. I am spiritual but also realistic. I've successfully raised two men who I've sent off to college and am now following my love of the arts, including painting, drawing and writing. Thus, two blogs, two books I sporadically work on, voracious reading, among other loves keep me busy.
This entry was posted in "The Interview", acting, Blogging, evil, First Amendment, Freedom, hackers, Hollywood, Men, movies, North Korea, Opinion and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

