McDonald’s New Commercial….Like or Hate?

Call me gullible, but I saw the new Mc Donald’s commercial during the NFL games Sunday and I liked it. Since, I’ve heard that a lot of people are cynical and upset by it and I’m intrigued.

I personally hate commercials and am so thankful for my DVR so I don’t have to view them. Given that during the live games I have to watch them I am amazed about the hype and negativity surrounding Mc Donald’s new campaign that I actually liked!

I don’t eat at Mc Donald’s often……but I do love their coffee and their sausage egg Mc Muffins and will once in a while partake, but haven’t put a lot of thought into the political aspects of their business model.

If you don’t like their angle or their treatment of workers, don’t give them business. I believe most of the Mc Donald’s restaurants are franchises owned and operated by local businessmen and women, so the marquees with these positive messages were their choice and decision. To be involved and caring about neighborhood issues and national ones should be a good thing, you’d think. For Mc Donald’s to show this in a commercial is smart and of course a good business decision. Mc Donald’s is, after all a retailer and wants business.

I’m just amazed how many people were upset by a commercial having nothing but positivity shown. I was happy to see that the individual stores were showing positive messages on their boards. Can’t that be enough?

Why does everything have to have be linked to social commentary and political overtones, analyzed and ripped apart?

How come people aren’t as upset by sexually explicit music videos, negative music itself, sexualized marketing and the like but when a company tries to be positive they react so negatively?

Just wondering……what do you think?

© Evelyn Garone 1.12.15

About Evie Garone

I am an outspoken woman with independent views of the world. I am spiritual but also realistic. I've successfully raised two men who I've sent off to college and am now following my love of the arts, including painting, drawing and writing. Thus, two blogs, two books I sporadically work on, voracious reading, among other loves keep me busy.
This entry was posted in commercials, Mc Donald's New commercial, Mc Donalds, socialcommentary and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

