To Repeal the #14th Amendment or Not ?

140th US Flag Day poster. 1777-1917. The birth...

Image via Wikipedia

The 14th Amendment was put into place for the slaves because they were brought to America against their will so that their children would naturally become citizens. It has surely done it’s job by now.  It has now been bastardized to hell. People are timing their visits with the time they are going to give birth so their children will be naturalized citizens. It is not this way anywhere else on earth. There are rich Europeans, Asians & French people coming to special hospitals “supposedly” for the good health care we have to deliver there babies here for safety, not because they want them to be citizens.  OK, if you believe that I have a bridge for sale. Let’s not forget the illegal aliens who come here, to America, bring their children into this world in the land of the free and the home of the brave. This is ludicrous. It is not about brown people. It is not xenophobic, it is about what the amendment was originally made for and stood for. If the original issue is what the amendment is doing is fine, if not, maybe we should think it through and if it is doing more harm to the country, if it is being abused more often than not, why not appeal it? Yes, it will be a gigantic decision, but a changing, non static nation has to change with the times. The President was all about change, but only his changes, maybe he should look across the aisle. Maybe we all should? What do you think?

About Evie Garone

I am an outspoken woman with independent views of the world. I am spiritual but also realistic. I've successfully raised two men who I've sent off to college and am now following my love of the arts, including painting, drawing and writing. Thus, two blogs, two books I sporadically work on, voracious reading, among other loves keep me busy.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to To Repeal the #14th Amendment or Not ?

  1. exileimaging says:

    Well, I have to plead ignorance on the wording of the 14th amendment, but I promise I’ll look it up and read it through this evening. In the meantime, on a purely emotional, make that visceral level, I want to pull the plug on this amendment! Seems to me there is at least the strong impression that it is being abused by people here both legally (but questionably?) as well as those who are here in violation of our laws. Once I’ve read the amendment, perhaps I’ll have to moderate my views, but at the very least, citizenship should be granted only if the parent or parents were here legally.

    Like

  2. exileimaging says:

    Me again. I did look up the 14th Amendment last night, and also read a blog on the Huffington Post regarding efforts to repeal or modify the amendment. While they make a valid point about the difficulty of enforcing any change to the law (some snide comment about immigration officials in the delivery room), I still feel we need to change this amendment. Citizenship should be reserved for those born here under completely legal circumstances. We’ve got too many ‘anchor’ babies, born here for the express purpose of getting a foot in the door, or to qualify for benefits. Keep blogging, Evie!

    Like

    • Evie Garone says:

      Huffington Post, Hmmm, surprise surprise on the “snide comments”! I agree we need to change this amendment and as I said it’s not xenophobic it’s about the legalities, and the original purpose! Amen brother! Thanks for the support on my blog!

      Like

  3. Located your blog via bing the other day and absolutely love it. Continue the great work.

    Like

Leave a Reply

