When Worlds Collide, Watch Out !

The last few days I have had to face a few realities of this horrible crumbling economy, and I have had to grow up and it was not pretty. I fought it crying and whining the whole way.  Sadly I am very disenfranchised with my whole world and the way I had pictured it because it is no longer true.

I know you know me as The Oracle Of Ahwatukee but I also go by the moniker, The Gummi Bear Queen from GumDrop Land where everything is happy and pretty in my world. It always has been and I thought it would be forever more. My husband and sons tease me and call me this because I grew up in the suburbs had a very happy childhood and always believe everything is wonderful in all the land.

But the reality of what is going on in America is no longer just theoretical, it is something I can bitch about, point fingers at politicians for because it has hit home and I am NOT happy and feel so powerless because of it. The collapse of the economic underpinning is finally hitting everyone, including people who pay their bills, buy insurance, do everything by the book the right way.

To my mind that is seriously WRONG. This country is seriously sick and we need to fix it. If you buy insurance, pay a high premium, you should be covered by my way of thinking. Things should cost a certain amount, yes, but we have to put a cap on it or better yet get to the root cause of all the problems.

When I was sick with breast cancer,  Thank GOD it was before this massive economic downturn (mildly understated), my Insurance carriers were the same one’s that are now covering me for this shoulder surgery that I must have, and supposedly my coverage is BETTER than then. How this can even be stated with a straight face is beyond me… That whole debacle must have cost a few hundred thousand and I thank my lucky stars everyday for how good our coverage was then, we paid a very small percentage. We do have a goodly sum we pay every month and have for years…our premium is NOT cheap, but I sang the praises of my Insurance Company and said they took care of me when I was ill with cancer and was thankful.

Boy how things have changed. Maybe I shouldn’t have sung their praises. Maybe they heard they were too nice. Maybe the collapse of  the US dollar has screwed us all, I don’t know but as this wonderful New Year has started I have a gigantic deductible I never had before, my visit to the ER is now a whopping $150, I have to pay 20% of the surgery fee UP FRONT and then I’ll tell you about the glasses.

My husband and I decided to visit the ophthamologist as it’s been a year and a half since I’ve been there and he’s let it go for more than 3 years. I won’t get into all the particulars to bore you silly, suffice it to say that even with our wonderful insurance, and people used to say we had the best eye plan around, (Ha, ha!) 2 regular pair of glasses, granted they are both bi-focal, yeah we’re old, and one pair of sunglasses with their 20% courtesy discount, 30% discount on second pair of glasses for me, none of the frames was over $240 and it all added up to $1,200.

That right folks, 3 pair of glasses with insurance & discounts still cost $1,200. How can that be? WTF!!!

I hate reality, I want to go back to GumDrop Land where everything was nice and made sense!!

We need an overhaul on this country and we need to do it tactically (boots on the ground) not strategically. (50,000 ft. view) We need to step back, take the time, analyze, and define what we are trying to solve for and then define the path to get there…there are no silver bullets folks! We need to get to root cause and solve! Statements don’t solve problems, actions do!

All the politicians and pundits are running around with their hair on fire with no answers. All the rhetoric I’ve heard is how to try to put out the fires that have already been raging and are out of control. Let’s get a grip and find out what is feeding the fires… We need real answers, concrete ideas, not just gobbledy gook, blah, blah, blah. How about some real experts not career politicians to run this country, to work on problems and really solve them, not put a band-aid on them, or throw good money after bad?

It is time for a change, but the right kind of change…


(C) Written by Evelyn Garone 1/2011

About Evie Garone

I am an outspoken woman with independent views of the world. I am spiritual but also realistic. I've successfully raised two men who I've sent off to college and am now following my love of the arts, including painting, drawing and writing. Thus, two blogs, two books I sporadically work on, voracious reading, among other loves keep me busy.
This entry was posted in Anti-Obama, Blogging, esoteric, family, funny, glasses, health, Insurance, interesting, Medical, new, optometrist, Taxes, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

