American Chinese Food…Special Memories

Chinese fried rice

Yummy!

Since I was young and I come from a family of 6 with good old-fashioned values ordering out was always a very special undertaking albeit unconventional & infrequent.

My first memory of any food other than my Mom’s home cooked was a big deal and really was To Go food on the road on a long journey to my Aunt’s house on a Friday so we could get on the road as soon as Daddy got home from work. We would stop at Stewart’s Root Beer and have hot dogs, root beer and whatever we wanted. That to us was a grand adventure.

Then they opened a McDonald’s about 5 towns away and we would go about once a month for burgers, fries & shakes as a family. We then thought we were Rockin’.

As I grew I was indoctrinated into the Girls Night Out for The Chinese “All You Can Eat” buffet with my Mom, Great Aunt Marge and sister. This was an orgy-fest of site, taste and sounds I had never experienced before and I loved it. It was very special. Just the Girls, a big night on the town, colorful drinks with umbrellas, cookies with fortunes and ice cream for dessert. What better magic for a young girl’s imagination.

This was a rite of passage, and my girlfriends and I kept it up as a special treat when we were in our early to late teens as a special treat to ourselves, a reasonable meal we could splurge on together on the weekends for something special to do.

So now as I convalesce and no food appeals to me, what do I fall back on? You got it…my old happy standby Chinese Food with all the happy memories attached hoping it will whet my appetite as nothing else can. My wonderful husband just brought me a plethora of shrimp this, garlic that, pork fried rice, egg drop soup, fried noodles and the piece de resistance, my all time favorite FORTUNE COOKIES, for we all know they are magic, right?

Written by Evelyn Garone 2/2011

About Evie Garone

I am an outspoken woman with independent views of the world. I am spiritual but also realistic. I've successfully raised two men who I've sent off to college and am now following my love of the arts, including painting, drawing and writing. Thus, two blogs, two books I sporadically work on, voracious reading, among other loves keep me busy.
This entry was posted in esoteric, funny, health, History, interesting, new, Politically Correct, store, Travel, Uncategorized, Women Groups and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

