THEY’RE All Writing Books, Why Not ME?

I have to admit, I’m a FOX News and talk-radio newsaholic and enjoy listening to all the politicians bloviating but what has really gotten my attention is how everybody and their mother has a book to hawk. They do this unashamedly, but are so lucky by having a platform to tell their hard luck story, share their diseases, triumphs, etc. They aren’t the only ones, think of all the criminals out there telling their story and selling it. AND guess what, people are buying these books?!

So I’m wondering, as I slowly write my books, (yes I’m working on 2) how I am going to get representation and attention to help sell them. (of course after I even get published, that too is a challenge). I’m starting to think I may have to do something dramatic, some real attention getter, so I’ll get interviewed and my story covered by the media so at the same time, as the cops are dragging me away, I can say  “HEY, please read my book, perhaps then you’ll understand why I’ve done what I’ve done” or some such nonsense.

My Story!

I happen to be a mild, law-abiding citizen, but I’m trying to think of something I can do that would be interesting and splashy enough to garner attention from the 24/7 News media, but not really get me in much trouble… I don’t think I’m tough enough for jail, I just talk tough!  Huh, I’m blanking on that one, but I may have to invest some time and energy on that, it may prove easier than hard honest work…

There’s always a catch! I can’t do anything violent, that’s just not me. In this media immediacy nation, I need to be ready with the book though,  because I’ll only have a moment in the spotlight, so I better get crackin’!

So now, besides working on the books, (and believe me that’s keeping me busy) I have to work on that scheme. Any ideas? I’m open to suggestions…

© Evelyn Garone 11/21/11

About Evie Garone

I am an outspoken woman with independent views of the world. I am spiritual but also realistic. I've successfully raised two men who I've sent off to college and am now following my love of the arts, including painting, drawing and writing. Thus, two blogs, two books I sporadically work on, voracious reading, among other loves keep me busy.
This entry was posted in Books, Business, Entertainment, Humor, Media, News and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to THEY’RE All Writing Books, Why Not ME?

  1. stevebetz says:

    Balloon Boy!! Do it Evie, do it!

    Like

  2. Lyka Ricks says:

    It is more difficult to keep the attention of hearers than of readers.~Lascelles Abercrombie obtained from Attention quotes

    Like

Leave a Reply

